News Archive 2009-2018

President Clayton Rose Presents the President’s Award and Other Prizes for Senior Excellence Archives

A special luncheon was held Friday, May 4, 2018, to honor seniors receiving the President’s Award and other awards and prizes recognizing exceptional accomplishments outside the classroom.

This year’s President Award goes to Daisy Wislar. Inaugurated in 1997 by President Robert H. Edwards, the President’s Award recognizes a student’s exceptional personal achievements and uncommon contributions to the College. Recipients’ actions demonstrate particular courage, imagination, and generosity of spirit; and they benefit the atmosphere, program, or general effectiveness of the College.

Other awards bestowed during the luncheon included the Lucien Howe Prize, awarded to Justin Weathers, the Franklin Delano Roosevelt Cup to Mohamed Nur, the Andrew Allison Haldane Cup to Rebekah Tesfamariam, and the Michael F.  Micciche III Award to Teresa Trinka. Read more about these prizes.

Diana Furukawa received the DeAlva Stanwood Alexander First Prize, which earns her the privilege of delivering the student address at Baccalaureate. As winner of the DeAlva Stanwood Alexander Second Prize, Carly Berlin is named alternate student speaker.

Jepté Vergara–Benitez, class of 2016, was presented the Class of 1868 Prize, and Helen Ross, the Goodwin Commencement Prize, earning them roles as this year’s Commencement speakers. Read about the origins of the Commencement Prizes.

One thought on “President Clayton Rose Presents the President’s Award and Other Prizes for Senior Excellence

  1. Peter Wood

    Congratulations to Diana Furukawa for winning the prestigious DeAlva Stanwood Alexander Award. In addition, Ms. Furukawa should be awarded the newly established “Bowdoin Wonderful Person Award”.

Comments are closed.