News Archive 2009-2018

Slideshow: Rose Presents the President’s Award and Other Prizes for Senior Excellence Archives

A special luncheon was held Saturday, May 6, 2017, to honor seniors receiving the President’s Award, and other awards and prizes recognizing exceptional accomplishments outside the classroom.

This year’s President Award goes to Jack Lucy and Justin Pearson. Inaugurated in 1997 by President Robert H. Edwards, the President’s Award recognizes a student’s exceptional personal achievements and uncommon contributions to the College. Recipients’ actions demonstrate particular courage, imagination, and generosity of spirit; and they benefit the atmosphere, program, or general effectiveness of the College.

Other awards bestowed during the luncheon include the Lucien Howe Prize, awarded to Briana Cardwell, the Franklin Delano Roosevelt Cup to Daisy Wislar, the Andrew Allison Haldane Cup to Quincy Leech, and the Michael F.  Micciche III Award to Amanda Spiller. Read more about these prizes.

Laura Hernandez received the DeAlva Stanwood Alexander First Prize, which earns her the privilege of delivering the student address at Baccalaureate. As winner of the DeAlva Stanwood Alexander Second Prize, Pamela Zabala is named alternate student speaker.

Starling Irving was presented the Class of 1868 Prize and Raisa Tochinsky, the Goodwin Commencement Prize, earning them roles as this year’s Commencement speakers. Read about the origins of the Commencement Prizes.