News Archive 2009-2018

Twelve Seniors Nominated to Phi Beta Kappa Archives

The members of Phi Beta Kappa, Alpha of Maine, have nominated twelve seniors for membership in ΦΒΚ.

The nominations are in recognition of the students’ outstanding academic records at Bowdoin and any other college or university where they may have studied through the first semester of their senior years.

Eileen H. Bates
Peter L. Cohen
Harrison P. Fisher
Thomas D. King
Gregory D. Maslak
Alexandra R. Mayer
Amanda R. Milloy
Hunter B. Moeller
Meredith S. Outterson
Kate I. Paulsen
Emma S. Roberts
Dominick L. Sanchez

These students join the following eleven members of the class of 2017 who were nominated for membership in ΦΒΚ in October 2016 on the basis of their academic records through their junior years:

Mariette R. Aborn
Olivia C. Cannon
Juliet R. Eyraud
Aliya G. Feroe
Danielle H. Freeman
Clarissa G. Hunnewell
Marisa J. O’Toole
Aidan Penn
Kate S. Powers
Nicolas A. Selemon
Liam U. Taylor

These students will be officially elected and initiated into Phi Beta Kappa at a ceremony to be held Friday, May 26, 2017, the day before Commencement.

The Phi Beta Kappa Society, the national honorary fraternity for the recognition and promotion of scholarship, was founded at the College of William and Mary in 1776. The Bowdoin chapter (Alpha of Maine), the sixth in order of establishment, was founded in 1825.

Election is based primarily on scholarly achievement, and consideration is given to the student’s entire college record. The total number of students selected each year does not normally exceed ten percent of the number graduating in May.

Students elected to Phi Beta Kappa are expected to be persons of integrity and good moral character, and must have completed at least 24 semester courses of college work (including 16 courses at Bowdoin).