News Archive 2009-2018

Alumni Ornithologists Gather for Reunion at Annual Conference Archives


Photo by Todd Fosgren ’03. Seated from left: Sami Nichols ’09, Prof. Nat Wheelwright, Liam Taylor ’17, Bryant Dossman ’11, David Zonana ’09, Mike Butler ’02, Clara Cooper-Mullin (Kenyon College ’09), Kristina Hick (University of Windsor, Masters student), Graham Sorenson (Kenyon College ’12), Sheela Turbek ’13, Brad Woodworth (University of Guelph, PhD student), Lisa Harn (Kenyon College ’09). Standing from center: Kevin Oh ’01, Nathan Elliott ’09, Andrea Kudrez Townsend ’98, Iris Levin ’05, Ines Moran (University of Windsor, Masters student). 

At the recent North American Ornithology Conference in D.C., a few ornithologists gathered for a Bowdoin/Kent Island reunion. The attached photo was taken by Todd Forsgren ’03, whose bird photographs were recently published in National Geographic.

At the NAOC conference, Nat Wheelwright—Bowdoin’s  Anne T. and Robert M. Bass Professor of Natural Sciences—was elected to the Council of the American Ornithological Society. Jed Burtt ’70 posthumously won the Margaret Morse Nice Prize, the highest honor given by the Wilson Ornithological Society. Don Dearborn, interim director of the Bowdoin Scientific Station, won the Storrs Olson Award for the best book review of the year published in the journal The Wilson Journal of Ornithology.