News Archive 2009-2018

By Land or By Sea: Annual Aquathalon Pits Runners Against Swimmers Archives

The swim team and track team met once again yesterday afternoon in Farley Field House for the annual and high-spirited aquathalon, which pits swimmers versus runners in a one-mile, 200-yard race.

The track team won the women’s race, its third victory in 14 years. “We ran and swam this well for Ally Fulton ’16,” said track coach Peter Slovenski. “She’s been the heart of this Aquathalon team, and we wanted to send her off with a senior year victory.”

The swim twim prevailed in the men’s race. In total, the men’s swim team has won 12 of the 14 Aquathalons.

“Our runners don’t have much body fat,” Slovenski said. “They dive in the water, and they start sinking. They try their best, but they are out of their element in the water. I have to start recruiting more runners who were high school swimmers, or at least lifeguards.”

Martha Boben ’19 of the track team was the overall winner. She ran a 5:36 mile, and finished with an overall time of 8:37. Teammate Sarah Kelley of the track team had the fastest mile run, 5:26, of the women’s competition. Mariah Rawding ’18 of the swim team had the fastest 200 yard swim with a time of 2:09.

Matt Jacobson ’17 of the track team won the men’s race with a time of 7:14. Jacobson’s third consecutive individual victory broke the Aquathalon meet record of 7:19 set in 2009 by Colman Hatton ’10.

Nick Walker ’16 of the track team ran a 4:37 for the fastest mile of the day. Will Hutchinson ’18, Peter Cohen ’17 and John Lagasse ’16 all tied with 2:04 for the best 200 yard swim time.