News Archive 2009-2018

Asbury ’03 and McDevitt ’75 Elected to Board of Trustees Archives

The Bowdoin College Board of Trustees recently elected two new members. Sydney Asbury ’03 and Joseph V. McDevitt Jr. ’75 were elected trustees for a term of five years, effective July 1, 2015.

Sydney Asbury and Joseph McDevitt

Sydney Asbury ’03 and Joseph McDevitt ’75

Asbury, of ­­­­Boston, is vice president at Northwind Strategies, and is a senior political and public policy professional. Prior to her role with Northwind Strategies, Asbury served as Massachusetts Governor Deval Patrick’s deputy chief of staff and political director. In her role as deputy chief of staff, Asbury oversaw the governor’s Government Affairs, Cabinet Affairs and Appointments offices. As political director, she was responsible for interacting with elected officials and a broad spectrum of community organizations. She had previously served as campaign manager for Governor Patrick’s successful re-election campaign. She also served as chief of staff to Massachusetts’ secretary of education.

Asbury is an active member of her community, and currently serves as Chair of Boston’s Downtown Waterfront Municipal Harbor Planning Committee. Prior service to Bowdoin includes service on the Alumni Council. Asbury’s husband, Mike Farrell, is a member of the Class of 2001.

McDevitt, who has lived in London for the past 30 years, has led a career in finance that has taken him from Asia to New York and the United Kingdom. McDevitt retired in 2014 from Pacific Investment Management Company (PIMCO), where he was a managing director in the London office. Prior to opening that office in 1998, McDevitt was a managing director responsible for business development and client services at Salomon Brothers Asset Management in London, and previously worked as an account executive with Merrill Lynch in Asia. A graduate of the Harvard Business School, McDevitt served in the Peace Corps in Korea from 1975 to 1978.

McDevitt is committed to his work on the board of the London-based Sutton Trust, which supports social mobility through education. His previous service to the College includes roles as chair of the Bowdoin Alumni and Schools Interviewing Committee (BASIC) and as a member of the Reunion Gift Committee.

During meetings held on campus May 7-8, the board re-elected Arthur Black ’91; David Brown ’79; Michele Cyr ’76, P’12; Jeff Emerson ’70, P’10; Gregory Kerr ’79; John McQuillan ’87 and Paula Wardynski ’79 trustees, each for a five-year term, effective July 1, 2015.