News Archive 2009-2018

Eleven Students Nominated to Phi Beta Kappa Archives

The members of Phi Beta Kappa, Alpha of Maine, have nominated eleven seniors for membership in PBK.

The nominations are in recognition of the students’ outstanding academic records at Bowdoin and any other college or university where they may have studied through the first semester of their senior years. The nominees are:


Mary Bryan Barksdale
Michael D. Croteau
Jacqueline M. Fickes
Yabing Liu
Molly R. MacVeagh
Ellery S. Maya-Altshuler
Siena L. Mitman
William D. Ossoff
Rachel N. Pollinger
Andrew J. Pryhuber
Kathleen H. Smith

These students join the following eleven members of the class of 2015 who were nominated for membership in Phi Beta Kappa in October 2014 on the basis of their academic records through their junior years:

Courtney Z. Chuang
Emma W. Dickey
Duncan J. Flynn
Joshua M. Friedman
Matthew M. Goodrich
Evan A. Horwitz
Ian A. Kline
Anna L. Seeler
Christine E. Walder
Camille E. Wasinger
Alana S. Weinstein

These students will be officially elected and initiated into Phi Beta Kappa at a ceremony to be held on Friday, May 22, 2015, the day before Commencement.

The Phi Beta Kappa Society, the national honorary fraternity for the recognition and promotion of scholarship, was founded at the College of William and Mary in 1776. The Bowdoin chapter (Alpha of Maine), the sixth in order of establishment, was founded in 1825.

Election is based primarily on scholarly achievement, and consideration is given to the student’s entire college record. The total number of students selected each year does not normally exceed ten percent of the number graduating in May.

Students elected to Phi Beta Kappa are expected to be persons of integrity and good moral character, and must have completed at least 24 semester courses of college work (including 16 courses at Bowdoin).