News Archive 2009-2018

Presidential Search Committee Members Announced Archives

Membership of the Presidential Search Committee tasked with leading the work to identify the 15th president of Bowdoin College was announced Friday afternoon by Board of Trustees Chair Deborah Jensen Barker ’80, P’16 and Trustee Jes Staley ’79, P’11, who will chair the search committee.


“These members of our larger community were selected for their experience, expertise, and deep understanding of Bowdoin and to represent the many constituencies of our College,” wrote Barker and Staley in a joint letter to the Bowdoin community.

Search committee members will work to identify the strongest candidates for president and then present their recommendations to the full Board of Trustees, which will make the final decision.

“While much of our work must remain confidential, we will engage the full Bowdoin community both in person and online to solicit your thoughts about leadership and the future of the College,” said Barker and Staley.

A website will be created soon to provide information and updates about the search, and to provide a means for members of the Bowdoin community to submit comments, insights and ideas to the search committee.

Bowdoin College Presidential Search Committee 2014

James E. Staley ’79, P’11 (chair), trustee
E. Sydney Asbury ’03, Alumni Council
Deborah Jensen Barker ’80, P’16, trustee
Jack R. Bateman, faculty
Dustin R. Biron ’15, student
Ronald C. Brady ’89, trustee
Tess E. Chakkalakal, faculty
Michele G. Cyr ’76, P’12, trustee
Allen W. Delong, administrative staff
Oriana M. Farnham ’15, student
Paul Franco, faculty
John F. McQuillan, ’87, trustee
David A. Morales ’97, trustee
Amy E. Ouellette, support staff
Jane L. Pinchin P’01, trustee
Peter M. Small ’64, P’97, P’99, trustee
David P. Wheeler ’74, P’07, P’15, trustee
Robert F. White ’77, P’15, trustee

Elizabeth D. Orlic (staff liaison)