Peruvian Novelist, Santagata Lecturer Mario Vargas Llosa Wins 2010 Nobel Literature Prize

Peruvian writer Mario Vargas Llosa, who once came to campus to deliver Bowdoin’s Santagata Memorial Lecture, has been awarded the 2010 Nobel Prize for Literature. “Vargas Llosa is probably the greatest Latin American novelist in the tradition of realism,” says Assistant Professor of Romance Languages Gustavo Faveron-Patriau.