Bowdoin Announces 2010 Honorary Degree Recipients

Bowdoin College will award four honorary degrees at its 205th Commencement exercises Saturday, May 29, 2010. The ceremony will take place at 10:00 a.m. on the Quad in front of the Bowdoin College Museum of Art. Honorary degrees will be awarded to author and lifelong educator Joan Cannady Countryman; Overseer of the College Emeritus, Oak Hill Capital Partners Managing Partner and philanthropist J. Taylor Crandall ’76; Spencer Foundation President, economist and author Michael McPherson; and internationally-known researcher and Brandeis University’s Victor and Gwendolyn Beinfield Professor of Neuroscience and Biology Department Chair Eve E. Marder.